Members of the National Pig Association (NPA) will begin voting for a streamlined Pig Industry Group (PIG) from next week.

Voting for the new NPA group, which will be made up of eight producer members and four allied industry members, will begin on Tuesday (January 23).

Nominations for PIG closed on January 8 with a total of 20 people from across the pig sector seeking election.

Producers will vote for producer candidates and allied industry members will vote for allied industry candidates with voting closing on February 22.

The candidates


The producer candidates for PIG are:

  • Fred Allen – Director at Allen Farms (Coddington) Ltd;
  • Robin Lawson – MD at Rattlerow Genetics, part of Lawson Partners Ltd (LPL);
  • Sam Ward – Lincolnshire Pork Co Ltd;
  • John Stockings – Thames Valley Pigs;
  • Matt Swaine – Monogastric sector manager at Harper Adams University;
  • Adrian Russell – Pig production director for family business;
  • Ash Gilman – Director of agricultural strategy for Cranswick plc;
  • Rob Mutimer – NPA chair;
  • Tom Allen – NPA board of directors;
  • Phil Stephenson – NPA vice chair;
  • Joe Dewhirst – Group managing director of family farming business;
  • Helen Webb – Technical and customer director within the Agriculture Department of Pilgrims UK.

Allied Industry

Allied members will be elected via the most votes in four categories: buildings/equipment; health; marketing/processing; and nutrition.

The allied industry candidates for PIG are:

  • Tim Styles – Fram Farmers;
  • Oliver Bown – Thames Valley Cambac;
  • Joseph Lunt – Zarkos-Smith Associates;
  • Michelle Sprent – Premier Nutrition;
  • Jon McKechnie – HIPRA;
  • Andy Hall – AM Warkup;
  • Gemma Thwaites – Garth Pig Practice;
  • Peter Bryant – A-One.