Yogurt-maker Glenisk heads up the agri-food companies of the 24 finalists finalists for the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2014 programme.

The agri-food industry is represented by Glenisk, Kestrel Foods and Elmgrove Foods. Kestrel Foods make fruit and nut snack foods, while Elmgrove Foods is a meat processor and produces over 80 beef, pork, lamb and chicken products mainly for export.

Competing against leading entrepreneurs throughout every corner of the island, the 24 finalists were selected in three categories – emerging, industry and international.

Known globally as the leading business awards programme for entrepreneurs, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year identifies, profiles and celebrates entrepreneurial trailblazers, regardless of sector, for their dedication to excellence, innovation and ingenuity.  Representing the full spectrum of industries at the core of Ireland’s economy, the 24 finalists, together, employ 6000 people and generate annual revenues of €628million.

The 24 finalists will join a group of 110 entrepreneurs, all previous finalists and winners of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year programme, for a week-long CEO Retreat taking place in Seattle and Vancouver at the end of May.

“Ireland’s business owners were particularly hard-hit by the economic downturn and now is the time to accelerate their ambition and focus their sights on the global opportunities that lie ahead” commented O’Keeffe at the announcement. “Through the support of the programme, our aim is help our 24 finalists continue to grow robust businesses, stimulate job creation and stay ahead of the curve well into the future.”


The finalists are:


Bill Walsh – Aspire Technology Ltd

Tony Judge – Clubs to Hire

Terry Fox – Cupprint

Oisin Hanrahan – Handybook

Sean Mitchell & David Moloney – Movidius

Andrew Murphy – Sláinte Healthcare

Brendan O’Driscoll & Aidan Sliney – Soundwave

Pat Phelan – Trustev Ltd



Pat McCann – Dalata Hotel Group plc

John Purdy – Ergo Group

Vincent Cleary, Gerard Cleary, Brian Cleary & Mark Cleary – Glenisk

Ian Haldane – Haldane Shiells Group

Michael Hall & Lorraine Hall – Kestrel Foods

Gregory O’Gorman & Marian O’Gorman – Kilkenny Group

Brian Crowley – TTM Group

Ian Wilson – Wilsons Auctions Ltd



Brian Comer and Luke Comer – Comer Group

Stuart Dobson – Elmgrove Foods Ltd

Mark Roden – DING!

Dermot Smurfit – Game Account Network plc

Mark Hutchinson – Hutchinson Engineering

George Mullan – SIS Group Ltd

Gabriel Moynagh – Sysnet Global Solutions

Mike Stack – Tricel