No-one could have predicted that Kim Livesey would chair her final Scottish Association of Young Farmers Clubs (SAYFC) National Council Meeting via Zoom, but with current lockdown restrictions still in force, this was, unfortunately, the only way the meeting could take place.

During the meeting on Tuesday (May 5), Livesey made reference to the current situation in her report, thanking clubs, districts and regions for their willingness to continue as ‘normal’ and embracing social media.

After just completing her year as North Region chairman, Gemma Bruce a member of Udny JAC was elected as national chairman for session 2020-2021.

Gemma Bruce commented: “I would like to congratulate Kim on a fantastic year and say how honoured I am to be elected as national chair.

"I am looking forward to the year ahead and to the challenges of navigating the association through these changing times.

We have a lot of new ideas to keep members involved and I cant wait to see these come together. Along with the development of the “Are ewe okay?” campaign and brand new SAYFCconnect platform.

Katie Burns, Kilmaurs YFC and current West Region chairman, was elected as the national vice-chairman.

She added: “I am completely honoured to accept this role, I accept that there is a challenging year ahead but one that SAYFC must embrace.”


Other members of the elected National Council are:

  • President: Andy Peddie;
  • Vice-president: Bill Arnot;
  • Treasurer: Ian Cuthbertson;
  • Outgoing chairman: Kim Livesey.


  • Member of the Year: Jennifer Veitch;
  • RHASS: Kay Adam;
  • SWI: Margaret Adamson.

Agri & Rural Affairs

  • Chairman: Catherine Sloan;
  • Vice-chairman: Ally Brunton
  • West: John McCulloch;
  • Daniel Fleming;
  • Amy Jo Reid;

International Committee

  • Chairman: Lianne Brunton
  • Vice-chairman: Lucy McClymont.

West Region Representatives

  • Gayle Allan;
  • Ross Johnston;
  • Jane Strawhorn;
  • Mhairi Strang;
  • Hazel Watt;
  • Lynsey Campbell.

East Region Representatives

  • David Black;
  • Lucy Mitchell;
  • Annabel Baker;
  • Jennifer Jones;
  • Barbara Shaw;
  • Hamish Logan;
  • Anna Sloan.

North Region Representatives

  • Murray Stephen;
  • Sally Mair;
  • Sarah Mowat;
  • Peter Duthie;
  • Joanna Foubister.

National Council will be meeting every two weeks to review and plan during and beyond Covid-19 lockdown.