Young Farmers' Clubs of Ulster (YFCU) members are in for an exciting AGM next month.

With Zita McNaugher reaching the end of her term as president, the rural youth organisation is set to come under new leadership.

Glarryford YFC member Peter Alexander is standing uncontested for president, but that's as simple as the process gets.

This time around there are three hats in the ring for the deputy president role and a staggering eight members standing for the four vice-president positions.

Current vice-presidents Stuart Mills (Moneymore YFC), and Hannah Kirkpatrick (Kilraughts YFC) and former vice-president Andrew Patton (Newtownards YFC) are all in the ring for deputy.

Vice-president candidates

The eight names put forward for vice-president include:

  • Incumbent vice-presidents Richard Beattie (Finvoy YFC), Hannah Kirkpatrick (Kilraughts Young Farmers), and Lynne Montgomery (City of Derry YFC)
  • John Armstrong, (Trillick YFC);
  • Jake Cunningham (Trillick YFC);
  • Adam Alexander (Kilrea YFC);
  • Abbey Morton (Bleary YFC);
  • Jessica Reid (Glarryford YFC).

Members will vote on Saturday, April 10 when the AGM takes place digitally. Voting opens five days in advance.

Unlike Macra na Feirme, YFCU rules do not allow candidates to canvas for positions. However, members with voting rights are provided with biographical information about each of the candidates in their AGM packs.

The AGM will also include the organisation's annual prize-giving ceremony, which includes the naming of the winner of this year's Ulster Young Farmer competition and the YFCU club of the year.