NFU honours Leicestershire-based farmer for grassroots commitment

A beef and arable farmer from Leicestershire has been honoured at the National Farmers’ Union (NFU) Conference, for his dedication and commitment to the NFU and to the British farming industry.

The Meurig Raymond award for this year was presented to NFU east midlands member Joe Stanley, on Tuesday, February 25.

Advocate for the food and farming sector

Joe has become a high-profile advocate for the food and farming sector through the mainstream media and on social media.

He is a regular contributor and columnist in national newspapers and farming trade magazines, along with hosting BBC Breakfast for a week on his farm near Ashby-de-la-Zouch last summer.

He has just become the NFU’s Leicestershire, Northamptonshire and Rutland county vice chairman.

Discussing the award, Stanley said: “It’s a huge honour to have been given this award and many congratulations to all the other nominees.

“All I’ve done is talk about what all the NFU members have been doing for our environment and producing quality food.

If all of us just put some attention to promoting what we do as an industry, that will be such a positive message.

NFU director general Terry Jones said: “I’m absolutely delighted for Joe; who is a worthy winner of the Meurig Raymond award for this year.

“He is the embodiment of what the NFU is all about.

‘A progressive voice for our industry’

“As well as running his own farming business, he’s an engaged grassroots NFU member and his local branch is enjoying a revival of activity due to his efforts to make the NFU more open and accessible to the younger generation,” he continued.

“His dedication, hard work and positivity has made him a progressive voice for our industry and helped raise the profile of British farmers and what they do.”

Joe Stanley, representing the NFU east midlands region, was selected from eight nominees drawn from each of the NFU’s seven English regions and NFU Cymru.

The other nominees were:
  • Judith Jacobs (east Anglia);
  • Bal Padda (west midlands);
  • Hugh Passmore (south east);
  • Mark Weekes (south west);
  • Clare Morgan (Wales);
  • David Martin (north east);
  • Kit Hopley (north west).