Just a few days left to nominate for the 2018 Chris Brant Award

There are just a few days left to make your nomination for this year’s National Pig Association (NPA) Chris Brant Award.

The award, which will be announced at a ceremony in November, seeks to recognise the contribution made by exceptional individuals within the British pig industry.

The honour has become one of the British pig industry’s most treasured awards because it’s peer-nominated with the winner chosen by producers and allied trades.

Once again, the judges will be looking for someone who consistently goes the extra mile for the industry.

Award sponsor Richard Longthorp said: “As I look over today’s confident, forward-looking industry, I see many potential Chris Brant Award candidates, working at the coalface, and creating a positive image for British pig production.”

The Chris Brant Award

The NPA Chris Brant Award is named after well-known producer and pig industry activist Chris Brant, who died in July 2009.

The Chris Brant Award was founded in 1999 as the Pig Industry Service Award, when it was presented to Chris Brant and John Cusson at the People in Pigs event in East Yorkshire.

It was later renamed the Chris Brant Award in memory of Chris Brant, who died July 2009.

Last year’s winner Pig World founder Sam Walton, pictured right receiving the award

Chris Brant was widely regarded as a hard-working, blunt, rambunctious, a talented pig producer, never failing to step up to the mark when the industry needed him.

Chris Brant was one of the leaders of British Pig Industry Support Group. He helped lead direct action against retailers in 1998-2000.

Nominations can be made online and close on July 31, 2018.

Award Hall of Fame

2017 Sam Walton

2016 Richard Lister

2016 Special award — NPA’s Georgina Crayford, Zoe Davies, Lizzie Wilson, Andrea Vickers

2015 Jimmy Butler

2014 Digby Scott

2013 Jonathan French

2012 Peter Crichton

2011 Nick White

2011 Special Award — Digby and Ann Scott

2010 Nigel Penlington

2009 Hugh Crabtree

2008 Fred Henley

2006 Richard Longthorp

2006 John Rowbottom

2004 Lynda Davies

2002 John Millard

1999 John Cusson

1999 Chris Brant