2021 British Farming Awards winners

The winners of the 2021 British Farming Awards were announced last week on Thursday, October 21, at an event hosted by TV and radio presenter Vernon Kay.

TV-celebrity Jeremy Clarkson and fellow Clarkson’s Farm star Kaleb Cooper attended the event, and were honoured for Flying the Flag for British Agriculture.

On acceptance, Clarkson thanked his whole team:

“This is about the whole team. It is for everybody who is involved. There is a great crowd of people on that farm.”

Other notable award winners include National Farmers’ Union (NFU) president Minette Batters and Scottish chilli farmer Sheena Horner, who took home a trophy for Farmers Guardian Farming Hero for her work spearheading a running campaign to improve mental health in the throes of the Covid-19 pandemic

The run saw 1,200 farmers and industry professionals take part and run just short of 65,000 miles, the equivalent of two and a half times around the world, raising more than £60,000 for five farming charities.

The full list of the 2021 winners is as follows:

  • Agricultural Student of the Year: Jessica Langton, University of Nottingham (gold) and William Awan, Harper University (silver);
  • Agri-tech Innovator of the Year: Terry Canning, CattleEye, Co. Antrim (gold) and Ian Wheal, Breedr, West Sussex (silver);
  • Arable Innovator of the Year: Jake Freestone, Overbury Enterprises, Worcestershire (gold) and Paul Davey, R.M. and E.F. Davey, Lincolnshire (silver);
  • Beef Innovator of the Year: Colin Davidson, Skaill Farm, Orkney (gold) and Louise Tudor, Upper House Farm, Shropshire (silver);
  • Contractor Innovator of the Year: Neil Fell, N.R. Fell Mobile Sheep Dipping, Durham (gold) and Gordon Samet, Livetec Systems (silver);
  • Dairy Innovator of the Year: Tim Sinnott, Ivy House Farm, Leicestershire (gold) and Susie and Mark Mottershead, The Brook, Wrexham (silver);
  • Digital Innovator of the Year: Farshad Kazemain, The Ethical Butcher, London (gold) and Will Roobottom, Croley Hill, Staffordshire (silver);
  • Diversification Innovator (small-medium) of the Year: Jenny and Stephen McKerr, Forth Mains Farm, South Lanarkshire (gold) and Andrew and Lauren Houston, Glenkilrie Larder, Perthshire (silver);
  • Diversification Innovator (large) of the Year: Danny MacMillan, The Macs Farm, Sussex (gold) and Rebecca and Stuart Mayhew, Old Hall Farm, Norfolk;
  • Family Farming Business of the Year: The Dalton Family, Daltons Dairy, Derbyshire (gold) and The Marshall Family, Marshall Farms and Farm Shop, Aberdeenshire (silver);
  • Farm Worker of the Year: Chloe Shorten, J.C Inne and Son, Aberdeenshire (gold) and Emma Houlton, Farringtons, West Lancashire (silver);
  • Farming Guardian Farming Hero: Sheena Horner;
  • Flying the Flag for British Agriculture: Jeremy Clarkson and Kaleb Cooper;
  • Machinery Innovator of the Year: Robert Hadley, Chesterton Fields Farm, Warwickshire (gold) and Martin Dillon, Tilting bale spike, Aberdeenshire (silver);
  • New Entrant/Against the Odds: Tom Addison, Addison agri, Buckinghamshire (gold) and James Matthews, Elmtree Farm, Gloucestershire (silver);
  • Outstanding Contribution to British Agriculture: Minette Batters, NFU;
  • Sheep Innovator of the Year: Matt Harding, Bentley Suffolks, Leicestershire (gold) and James Drummond, A. and W.J. Drummond, Northumberland;
  • Sustainability Innovator of the Year: James Wright, Tonnagh Farm, Co. Armagh (gold) and Kate and Kevin Hoare, Trenance Farm, Cornwall (silver).